Rokerthon 2017 from the POV of a Crab Walker

Contrary to the name, I was far from crabby to be one of 500 participants to help Loyola set the New World Record for the most people crab walking in two minutes.  Although I originally wanted to remain in the cheer section to snap pictures and videos of my friends who were participating, my roommates eventually convinced me to take part in this once-in-a-lifetime experience. As I approached the quad at 5:00 a.m. on a brisk Thursday morning decked out in Loyola colors, I tried to prepare for what was about to unravel.

About an hour later, still cold and dark, we were given different colored shirts that would designate our “team” or the row we would be in when it was time to crab walk. By this point we were standing in the grass on the quad, and my feet were completely numb from the cold. Not only did I not know the first thing about how to crab walk, but a vital body part needed for the walk I could no longer feel. I prayed that the sun would come out to thaw my feet before the start of the event. Thankfully, commercial breaks prompted music to play, allowing for my friends and I to try and evoke warmth through our ridiculous dance moves.

Al Roker, the NBC Today Show’s weatherman, was on campus to report the action live. Along with our greyhound mascot, there were quite a few live greyhound dogs who appeared in Al Roker’s entrance to the show. Both the dance and cheer teams performed a quick routine, and the acapella choral group sang as well. I waited in anticipation for the crab walk to start, standing on my tippy toes and attempting to make it onto at least one of the cameras scattered throughout the quad. Butterflies in my stomach, I approached my assigned line, luckily scoring a spot towards the front where there was a main cameraman.

Down on my hands and feet in an awkward crab-like position, I waited for the blow horn to sound. Before I knew it, I was waddling five steps forward and five steps backward continuously for two minutes. The first minute wasn’t too difficult, but by the second, I had slowed down to a snail’s pace. When the timer finally buzzed, I collapsed on the ground, waiting for Al and the reporter from the Guinness World Records to announce if we had succeeded. When it was declared that we had indeed set the new world record, my friends and I began to jump up and down, not caring how muddy we were or how sore our arms would be in an hour. Collecting my “I broke a world record” sticker, and “Rokerthon” foam finger, I tiredly shuffled to class. However, I was definitely happy with my decision to make history at my second home.

bal-bs0050302087-2017033017554043_1469759476370443_6886797417584999327_n

Baltimore Sun Video of Rokerthon

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

